loading site..

land acknowledgement


Tourism Barrie acknowledges the traditional territory of the Anishinaabeg people, which include the Odawa, Ojibwe, and Pottawatomi Nations collectively known as the Three Fires Confederacy. We also acknowledge the Wendat Nation (Huron) who occupied these lands prior to the middle of the 17th century.

We are dedicated to honouring Indigenous history and culture and recognize the enduring presence of Indigenous peoples on this land. We are committed to moving forward in the spirit of reconciliation and respect with all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit People.

Anishinaabeg: Ah-nish-NAH-beg
Odawa: Oh-DAH-wah 
Ojibwe: O-jib-we
Pottawatomi: boh-tah-WAH-toh-mee
Métis: may-tee
Wendat: wen-dat